About Us

Our Vision

Sustainable mobility for everyone

Our Mission

Show the world a positive future by designing, building and demonstrating true zero emissions vehicles utilising Australia’s and the world’s best technologies.

Our Objectives

  • Demonstrate to the general public the future of true zero emissions personal mobility.
  • Promote the high technology products and services of our development partners and sponsors.
  • Educate and train the next generation of student leaders in the areas of Science, Technology, Engineering, Math (STEM) and project management.

Our Organisation

  • We are a Melbourne-based, non-profit, all-volunteer group dedicated to promoting sustainable mobility.
  • We participate in high profile public and competitive events, reaching more than 500,000 people each year.
  • We are partnered with Swinburne University to develop Solaris, a stylish, fully Australian road legal, two-seat, solar-electric passenger car for everyday, off-the-grid use.

Our History

Aurora started in 1980 by building petrol economy specials. Between 1983-85 it held the world record for fuel economy posting a high of 5107 miles per imperial gallon. In 1987 Aurora turned to solar car development when Hans Tholstrup devised the first trans-continental World Solar Challenge. Aurora has been a contestant in every World Solar Challenge, winning the Event outright in 1999 and achieving class wins in 1990, 2007 and 2013. Aurora has also participated in a number of major sustainable mobility events and competitions worldwide.

Aurora in 1987 Aurora in 1990 Aurora in 1993 Aurora in 1999 Aurora in 2001 Aurora in 2003 Aurora in 2005 Aurora in 2007

Our Key People

  • Andris Samsons, Chairman and Management Committee Member
  • Gordon Baker, Treasurer and Secretary
  • Tom Baker, Electrical Team Leader and Head Strategist
  • Martin Brook, Marketing/PR Manager, Educational Outreach Leader and Management Committee Member
  • Nick Grant, Membership Officer
  • Qun Dai, Photographer
  • Alice Ho, Public Relations and Automotive Interior Designer
  • Ali Jafari, Design Leader
  • Shaun Johnson, Lead Aerodynamicist
  • James Kirk, Electronics Research & Development
  • Joost Kuckartz, Engineering Leader
  • Benjamin Lam, Systems Integration
  • Damien McArthur, Aerodynamicist
  • Jack McArthur, Crew Chief
  • Daniel Mills, Mechanical
  • Derrick Rodgers, Driver
  • Bruce Telfer, Operations
  • Darren Trafford, Manufacturing Leader and Management Committee Member
  • David Zhao, Automotive Exterior Designer